Holy Ground

by madiniven

“Take off your shoes, for you are standing on holy ground.” -Exodus 3:5

I’m in awe of God’s holiness. I understand that God is up close and personal; but there is something that is so majestic and mysterious about his holiness. Can you imagine being Moses, standing there as the God of his ancestors, the creator of anything and everything talked to him?

And it’s crazy because God is so holy, that even the ground on which Moses stood as he talked with God became too precious to have Moses’ shoes on. How mind boggling is that?!

And with God’s holiness is His goodness. You can’t be holy without being absolutely good and boy God sure is both.

I’m taken away with wonder of His presence. In God’s presence, loneliness becomes friendship and fear becomes courage.

I want to be in God’s presence, like Moses was, stand on holy ground.

I want friendship with God. Not just “Ah, yeah. God? I’ve heard of Him.” but like, “DUDE. Me and God are tight.”

Father,

Take me into Your presence, not because of who I am or because of what I have done but because of who You are and what Jesus did.