The underdogs.

by madiniven

“If you’ve gotten anything at all out of following Christ, if his love has made any difference in your life, if being in a community of the Spirit means anything to you, if you have a heart, if you care— then do me a favor: Agree with each other, love each other, be deep-spirited friends. Don’t push your way to the front; don’t sweet-talk your way to the top. Put yourself aside, and help others get ahead. Don’t be obsessed with getting your own advantage. Forget yourselves long enough to lend a helping hand.” -Philippians 2:1-4

When I read, “Put yourself aside and help others get ahead,” I instantly imagine people putting aside their reputations and sticking up for the underdogs, those people that everyone looks down upon.

But then I also imagine people serving each other. People doing things for each other without expecting anything in return. People giving their lives away.

And when I imagine all of that, I think, “That’s the kind of person I want to be.”

When you really think about it, life is not about you or me. It’s about others. Helping others. Giving to others. Serving others.

Why not help feed the people who are starving halfway across the world?

Why not help others out?

Why not give?

If it was about my life or your life I could understand.

But it’s not.

We need each other.

In this huge world, we’ve got to show some people some love.

We need each other to lend a helping hand.

Generosity, love, selflessness are good for the soul.

“Learn to do right; seek justice.
Defend the oppressed.
Take up the cause of the fatherless;
plead the case of the widow.” -Isaiah 1:17