I ain’t no caterpillar anymore.

by madiniven

Caterpillars.

They are ugly little creatures.

When my siblings, Ben and De, and me were kids we used to ride our bikes and squish little innocent caterpillars. Poor creatures had no hope for life when we were around.

I had a God thought about caterpillars a little over a week ago.

Caterpillars seem to have nothing going for them. I mean it looks like all they do is crawl around on their tiny legs and wait to be killed by a conniving little kid on a bicycle.

I wonder if they know what is coming. I really do wonder if caterpillars know what they are going to be transformed into.

A butterfly, of course.

Butterflies are absolutely beautiful to me. Any and everyone will stop and stare, at least for a second, if a butterfly flies by. They are simply majestic.

I see myself as a caterpillar.

I see some people around me as caterpillars.

I tell God, “Eh, I’m just like a caterpillar. I have a lot of ugly things about me, You could never make me into something beautiful and new. Like a butterfly.”

I even think stuff similar to that about other people.

And sometimes I focus so much on my own thoughts that I don’t hear God’s thoughts.

God sees the end result.

He knows that a caterpillar WILL turn into a butterfly. God doesn’t sweat about it, or doubt that it will happen. He knows it will.

Yet sometimes I think that I cannot be a new creation in God. I am simply like an ugly caterpillar.

BUT.

He is working on me.

Like a caterpillar transforms into a butterfly, God is making me new.

I can’t see it, but just because I can’t see it doesn’t mean I shouldn’t trust the process.

God is cool in the fact that He sees our full potential.

I see myself as a unchanged.

He sees me as a brand new creation.

“This means that anyone who belongs to Christ has become a new person. The old life is gone; a new life has begun!” -2 Corinthians 5:17 

Father,

Jesus had made me new.

Teach me how to see people as you see them.

Let Your truth sink deep into my bones.

