God’s heart.

by madiniven

I’ve been reading through Genesis and I came across the story of Jacob and Esau. Esau and Jacob were brothers; Jacob basically stole Esau’s birthright and his blessing from their father and Esau literally hated his brother for that.

 Jacob really messed up in his relationship with his brother and Jacob ended up fleeing the land that his family lived on!

So………fast forward a couple of years and Jacob ended up going BACK to the land that his family lived on!

He was going to meet his brother that he wronged many years ago, and he brought all these gifts for Esau as a peace offering because Jacob really didn’t leave his home on good terms!

And of course, you expect his brother to be all, ” Why are you back here? I HATE YOU. You did me wrong!” but just wait.

“Then Jacob looked up and saw Esau coming with his 400 men. So he divided the children among Leah, Rachel, and his two servant wives. He put the servant wives and their children at the front, Leah and her children next, and Rachel and Joseph last.  Then Jacob went on ahead. As he approached his brother, he bowed to the ground seven times before him.” -Genesis 33:1-3

The anticipation of how Esau will respond to his brother is killer!

 “Then Esau ran to meet him and embraced him, threw his arms around his neck, and kissed him. And they both wept. “-Genesis 33:4

!!!!

I totally see God’s heart in this story. I see what he is all about.

Restoration. Forgiveness.

I think back on all the times that I have sinned and messed up in my life; and I’ve been scared to go to God. I mean why go to God if He is going to scream at you and tell you how much you’ve wronged him.

But what I thought about God ^^ , isn’t who He is.

This is something I have slowly realized about God, His grace is just awesome.

The way that Esau reacted to his brother Jacob, is the way that God reacts to me and you.

God’s heart is forgiveness and grace and restoration.

