Enoch

by madiniven

A few days ago, I was reading Genesis 5 and it started to list Adam and Eve’s descendants. And in the list of descendants, the story of Enoch is told.. in literally two sentences.

 Enoch lived 365 years, walking in close fellowship with God. Then one day he disappeared, because God took him.”  -Genesis 5:23-24

These few verses are LOADED. 

I mean who is this guy?! Why in the world isn’t there an entire book written about him in the Bible?! Enoch’s story is so mysterious. He walked closely with God and then God just took him home to heaven.. Enoch just disappeared. He was here, then he was gone! Seriously, there should have been at least a chapter written about him. 

It’s weird though because I wish I knew more about Enoch and his life, but I also kind of like the mysteriousness of his story. I like that his story is only two sentences. I like that his life story is thrown in the list of descendants as if it is no big deal that God took him to heaven. 

But seriously, when I get to heaven me and Enoch are going to have a nice loooong conversation about his life. 

 

 

