Blind Lies.

by madiniven

It’s easy to believe a lie, when you don’t know the truth.

The enemy on a daily basis, throws lies our way; and nine times out of ten, we blindly believe them. We accept them for the truth and don’t even know it.

I guess the best example I can come up with, is this…

“So, Madi.. how old are you?”

“I’m 18.”

“Nope, You are 23.”

If this happened, I would obviously know what the truth was… and tell that person that they were stupid. But if I truly didn’t know my age, I would assume that the person was telling me what was true.

Lies like, “You are alone”, “You’re so ugly”, “You won’t amount to much”, creep into your mind and camp out. They get comfortable and wait until you actually start to believe them.

…and then you start to wake up in the morning, and hate looking into the mirror, you hate walking into a crowded room, because you still feel alone… or you dread going to the dead end job that takes you nowhere, and feel directionless.

You believe lies that have no truth in them.

And that’s where God comes in.

God is truth.

And what He says is true.

So, when you start to look at the lies that the enemy tells you and call them out as lies… it changes your perspective.

I have always thought a “renewed mind” meant that God would come down and literally make your mind brand new; but I just recently found out that a renewed mind is recognizing the lies you believe and confronting them with the truth.

When you feel alone, remember what God says, “And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” -Matthew 28:20

When you don’t feel attractive, remember, ” I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made” -Psalm 139:14 

When you feel like your life has no meaning, God says, ” For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” –Jeremiah 29:11

About a week ago, I wrote down a list of lies that I believe about myself and God on one side of a note card and on the other side, I wrote what God says about it… and its crazy because, whenever I begin to think the lies.. I read what God says about me and my mind gets renewed.

and I’ve realized that the truth is better than the lies.

