moving ahead

by madiniven

“But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining towards what is ahead, I press on towards the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenwards in Christ Jesus.” -Phil 3:15

Wow, I am tired..but I feel like I need to write. So here it goes.

When I read the passage above, I get a mental image of Paul in a huge crowd pushing his way towards Jesus, going at him with all that he’s got.

And that image brings up a question that I have been dealing with today.

I don’t understand why Christians, myself included, get stuck in these ruts where they become happy with where they are with God… I guess another word would be comfortable with where they are.

For instance, if you were at a rock concert and your favorite band was on stage and if you had the chance to go up closer and see them..  you would. So why is it different with God?

Why do we take a seat in the back row and say… “God, I’m comfortable back here..I mean, I want to see you.. but only from a safe distance.”

I don’t get it.

Why aren’t we like Paul or like the lady with the issue of blood?

Pushing through the crowd,

Pushing through the pains and hurts of life

and saying, “no matter what God, I’m still coming hard after you.”

 

This is for me and you.

Don’t let yourself get stuck in an endless rut of being comfortable with where you are in God.

There is so much more about him that you and I don’t know,

So get up in the crowd,

Push through

and chase after God.

 

