The altar.

by madiniven

“Because of Christ and our faith in him, we can now come boldly and confidently into God’s presence.” -Ephesians 3:12

My sister, De, told me something a while back that really stuck with me and I thought I’d share it with you guys. I’ll set the scene, we were in church and many people were getting prayed for.. It was a chill service, so it wasn’t a big deal when she pulled me aside and told me something about the altar.

She told me that before Jesus came, it was a HUGE deal to be able to come before God and talk to him. Like only the priests did it and if they did one thing wrong, they would die. But then.. Jesus came and the died for us and the Veil that separated God from us, was torn.. completely. Meaning we could boldly go into his presence and talk with him.

She told me, that for most.. going to the altar to get prayed for is scary. Even I admit it… its terrifying.  I think that when I go down to get prayed for.. people will all wonder, “Oh, wonder what’s wrong with her..” -.-

BUT.

My thinking was totally wrong. De told me that going to the altar is a something really special; like back then only the priests could do it and now it’s open up to us… regular folks, we can go down to the altar and talk with God… its a BIG deal. We can talk to God anytime we want… Pretty rad.

