closed mouth.

by madiniven

“Understand this, my dear brothers and sisters: You must all be quick to listen, slow to speak, and slow to get angry. Human anger does not produce the righteousness God desires. So get rid of all the filth and evil in your lives, and humbly accept the word God has planted in your hearts, for it has the power to save your souls.” -James 1:19-21

The bible verse above is a good one; but if you are like me.. you most likely skimmed through it.. so, read it again.

I like talking when I’m around my friends…we all try to get into the spotlight and tell the funny stories that have happened to us in the past week. So, this verse sounds like a really hard challenge to me.

Listen.

I get distracted when someone tells me a long story; but the above it says to be quick to listen.  To be quick to hear what others have to say. To pull myself out of the spotlight and listen to someone else.

God,

I just want to listen to people. I don’t want to be the person that has closed ears but an open mouth. I want to hear what people have to say. Make me a good listener.

