Isaiah 49

by madiniven

Isaiah 49:8-9

This is what the LORD says:

“In the time of my favor I will answer you,
and in the day of salvation I will help you;
I will keep you and will make you
to be a covenant for the people,
to restore the land
and to reassign its desolate inheritances,
to say to the captives, ‘Come out,’
and to those in darkness, ‘Be free!’”

God,

It seems like we’ve forgotten you.

Our hearts have drawn away from your love and mercy.

My country isn’t following you.

We’ve strayed away.

How can we forget our Maker?

How can we not remember the Crucifixion?

Why is Your love and mercy is not shown through us?

You have not forgotten us, Your chasing after us…

but everyone is running away.

Why God?

What went wrong?

When did our love for you move towards worldly things?

What happened?

When did your love leave us? No, it never has.. Your love will never fail us.

Why are our hearts not connecting with you?

Move.

Shake us.

Shock us.

Change us.

Pour into us.

Do something.

Our love for you has strayed, but you, God.. you can do something.

Turn the hearts of your children back to their Maker.

You have never forgotten us.

Isaiah 49: 15-18

“Can a mother forget the infant at her breast,
walk away from the baby she bore?
But even if mothers forget,
I’d never forget you—never.
Look, I’ve written your names on the backs of my hands.”

