Wake me up…

by madiniven

I babysat four kids the other night. I think that these little munchkins are probably my favorite kids in the whole world! The youngest boy had on his Buzz Lightyear pajama’s and he walked up to me with the silliest grin on his face… he asked… “Ms. Madi, Can you put my Spider-man costume on me?”.. “Sure.. Juss.. I will!”

For the next hour or so.. he would walk over to me and I would put the Spider-man mask on him.. then he would proceed to shoot imaginary spider webs at my face. He was cracking me up the whole night! One of his older brothers was watching him and he said… “Juss, you know your not REALLY Spiderman.. your just pretending.”  Of course the three year old paid no attention to his older brothers comment.. and kept acting like he was a super hero.

Today, I was listening to the radio and this song came on.. It was a girl and she kept repeating this one line throughout the song… “Wake me up inside!” It was a really depressing song, here are the first two verses.

“How can you see into my eyes like open doors?
Leading you down into my core
Where I’ve become so numb

Without a soul
My spirit’s sleeping somewhere cold
Until you find it there and lead it back home ….

Wake me up inside

Wake me up inside

Call my name and save me from the dark”

This sounds like it would be some sort of Christian song… I actually imagined a human video.. when I heard this song. I could just see a girl walking around and desperate for someone to save her.. then Jesus would come and everything would be awesome.

I just don’t see how people make it without Jesus. I think  of it like this…there are all these people acting like they are super hero’s and yet under the costume is just a sad person.  Acting like life is dandy.. when really you feel cold and dark. Gosh, you need the love of God to be woken up.

I’m not sure if what I’m saying is making sense.. I feel like I’m just rambling on and on.

There’s a deep cry in this song, a cry that can only be hushed by the love of Jesus. God, wake us up.

PEace!

