Mailbox….

by madiniven

Our society is truly spoiled.

We live in a country where everything is wanted now, no waiting is really necessary. If I am really hunger, will I go to Long Horns and wait thirty minutes to get a hamburger and fries??  No, I’ll go to Jack’s or McDonald’s.  If I need to talk to my friend about a science project that’s due in a week, am I going to wait until the next time I see her to ask or send her a letter??… No I’ll text her. Or even if I want to hangout with a old pal I haven’t seen in forever.. am I going to hook up the horses to a carriage and mosey my way on over to see them?? No, I’ll drive over there.

We live in a society where things are literally spoiling us, we don’t have the patience that our ancestor’s used to have.  Today, as I was just waking up… I had a thought. I wish that we could talk to God through text. I wish I could send him a prayer and two minutes later get an instant response. I am spoiled, I’m not proud of it. We all are though. Over the past year or so I’ve had to learn that text messaging, phone calls and emailing aren’t the only forms of communication.

Letters.

I’ve written many letters over the past year and it’s helped me grow some understanding. When I send a letter I don’t get an instant response.. in fact it takes about a week to get a response, which is a million times slower than an instant text!

I’ve realized that when I receive a text, there isn’t the same giddiness as when a letter waits for me in the mailbox. Text messages are short and to the point. Letters are deep, they go into depth.. there is something quite special about opening a letter. It’s long and handwritten. I believe that handwritten letters are rarely sent.  Isn’t that crazy though? I believe that a friendship can be grown between letters way more that between texts.

When you pray to God.. do you want a quick response?  I believe a quick response from God.. wouldn’t have the same affect on someone. When you wait and wait for a letter from an old pal and finally receive it.. it means something. Anyone can send a quick response to you.. but someone cares about you when they take the time to sit down and write a response.

Does this make sense?

When you pray to God and you don’t get a quick response.. don’t stress. Wait for the letter that God is handwriting to you.

Isaiah 40:27-31

“Why would you ever complain, O Jacob,
or, whine, Israel, saying,
“God has lost track of me.
He doesn’t care what happens to me”?
Don’t you know anything? Haven’t you been listening?
God doesn’t come and go. God lasts.
He’s Creator of all you can see or imagine.
He doesn’t get tired out, doesn’t pause to catch his breath.
And he knows everything, inside and out.
He energizes those who get tired,
gives fresh strength to dropouts.
For even young people tire and drop out,
young folk in their prime stumble and fall.
But those who wait upon God get fresh strength.
They spread their wings and soar like eagles,
They run and don’t get tired,
they walk and don’t lag behind.”

PEace!

