She’s quietly crying out…

by madiniven

I have this one church song stuck in my head. The song is a good song.. but this certain line keeps running around in my head.

“The world is crying out for You to shine through us.”

Is this true? Is the world wanting God..even if it’s just mere glance at Him…? I know people aren’t literally standing on street corners crying and saying they want to see God’s light. No, These people.. do it quietly. These people are like my neighbor next door, who I see once in a blue moon.. they ask questions. My neighbor, as I’ve told you before, always ask if my family still goes to church.. he is quietly crying out.

We are called to be salt and light in this world.

I want to describe to you a new way of thinking towards the verse about salt and light..but I’m not quite sure how I’m going to do it yet.

Matthew 5:13-16

“You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled by men.”You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.”

I think that we,before God, are just a piece of salt that has no taste. We live in a world where everything seems bland and you can’t see what God’s hand is doing. Ah.. but when God comes into your heart.. its as if your little grain of salt has turned into a beautiful spice. God turns plain ole boring things into masterpieces.

Of course you know the verse.. Psalm 119:105

“By your words I can see where I’m going;
they throw a beam of light on my dark path.”

By God’s very words we are led. He shows us when we’ve gone onto a dark path and that’s sort of what the world wants us to do. These people want us to say, in a kind way, that God is their only hope… they have no hope in drugs, sex, addictions or money.

The world is crying out to us…will you respond?

PEace!

