Constant Sorrow…

by madiniven

I recently have had this interest in David.  I want to know more about him and his relationship with God.

Today, I read a few chapters in 1 Samuel.  In these few chapters there was a constant pursuit of Saul trying to catch David, and kill him. Even at one point David called to Saul and said… “Why is my lord pursuing his servant? What have I done, and what wrong am I guilty of?”(1 Samuel 26:18).  I’m sure David was confused, he had done nothing wrong; in fact he could have killed Saul but he did not want to murder an anointed king. What started this crazy pursuit?

I think it had to have started a few chapters back in Samuel 18:7-9…

“As they danced, they sang:

“Saul has slain his thousands,
and David his tens of thousands.”

8 Saul was very angry; this refrain galled him. “They have credited David with tens of thousands,” he thought, “but me with only thousands. What more can he get but the kingdom?” 9 And from that time on Saul kept a jealous eye on David.”

Jealousy. Its a little flame in everyone of us, and when it gets fanned it turns into something ugly.  David wrote this in Psalm 13…

“How long, O LORD ? Will you forget me forever?
How long will you hide your face from me?

2 How long must I wrestle with my thoughts
and every day have sorrow in my heart?
How long will my enemy triumph over me?

3 Look on me and answer, O LORD my God.
Give light to my eyes, or I will sleep in death;

4 my enemy will say, “I have overcome him,”
and my foes will rejoice when I fall.

5 But I trust in your unfailing love;
my heart rejoices in your salvation.

6 I will sing to the LORD,
for he has been good to me.”

Isn’t it crazy how even though David was being pursued by a mad-man..he still put his trust and faith in God’s unfailing love?

PEace!

