The dotted line…

by madiniven

I find that my best posts are written when its just me and God.  I’m blocking out all distractions, God it’s just You and me.

I’m not sure why.. but as I was reading random verses, these few verses below really stuck out to me.

Isaiah 52:1-3

“Wake up, wake up! Pull on your boots, Zion! Dress up in your Sunday best, Jerusalem, holy city!
Those who want no part of God have been culled out.
They won’t be coming along.

Brush off the dust and get to your feet, captive Jerusalem!

Throw off your chains, captive daughter of Zion!

God says, “You were sold for nothing. You’re being bought back for nothing.”

I sense urgency in this verse, a good and excited urgency.  I loving the feeling of being excited.  The night before my birthday, every year, I get this overwhelming excitement in my stomach. I feel like real butterflies are floating around in me… and of course I rarely get any sleep that night. While reading this verse, I imagine Isaiah running around excitedly from house to house.. shouting at the top of his lungs…  “Hey! Everyone you are free… no longer captives to things that are holding you down!!! Be free!!”

Again I don’t know why… but every time I reread this verse, an image pops into my head.  The image is a black and white one, sort of dull looking, with people walking around like zombies; lifeless.

I wonder how the people reacted when Isaiah told them they were free. Did they just look at him with a lifeless face.. or did they rise up, brush the dust off their feet?

Isaiah 52:11-12

“Out of here! Out of here! Leave this place!
Don’t look back. Don’t contaminate yourselves with plunder.
Just leave, but leave clean. Purify yourselves
in the process of worship, carrying the holy vessels of God.
But you don’t have to be in a hurry.
You’re not running from anybody!
God is leading you out of here,
and the God of Israel is also your rear guard”

I think this is the way we should leave the sins that have taken control of us… not looking back.. but ahead to where God is leading us.

PEace!

