Jungle Boy…

by madiniven

My brother.

He is adventurous…a rock climber…a nature type of guy.

He used to nail pieces of wood to the huge tree in front of our yellow house. I remember one day.. he was trying out the homemade “ladder” and he had gone to the top of the tree…then proceeded to climb back down. On the way down his shirt collar got stuck and he was hanging off a protruding branch….choking. My sister and I saw this strange sight… and we thought he was joking.. though I’m not sure why…

We laughed… he gasped.

It wasn’t funny. My dad came out at the right time and helped him down.

I think that in life people all around me and you are choking.. and spiritually dying.. right before our very eyes. Yet we don’t see it. My youth pastor said tonight something that caught my attention. He said that most people are so self focused.. that they only see through egotistical eyes.

I know most of the people at my school… but do I really know them? Do I see that the enemy is whispering to a girl at my school that she isn’t pretty enough? Do I care?

I hate being self-centered. I think it’s something that every human goes through.. and everyone can overcome it. (Revelation 12:11)

What is self-less?

I want to know.. what does a self-less person look like? A person who could care less about themselves.. but strives to serve others… I guess a good example is Jesus.

Philippians 2:1-4

If you’ve gotten anything at all out of following Christ, if his love has made any difference in your life, if being in a community of the Spirit means anything to you, if you have a heart, if you care— then do me a favor: Agree with each other, love each other, be deep-spirited friends. Don’t push your way to the front; don’t sweet-talk your way to the top. Put yourself aside, and help others get ahead. Don’t be obsessed with getting your own advantage. Forget yourselves long enough to lend a helping hand.

PEace!

