You can’t have your cake…

by madiniven

One day… I don’t know how this saying came up…but my sister and I began to discuss the saying “You can’t have your cake and eat it too”

I loved the way she explained it… “Okay.. Madi, The saying pretty much means.. you can’t have your cake to look at and eat it too… you either have to chose not to eat the cake… or to eat it.”

“Really?” I asked.

“Yeah..pretty much.”

“What if I had two cakes that looked exactly the same… so then I could have my cake and eat it too.”

“No.. Madi..no…”

Haha… I think this is a good saying..I even ate a piece of cake a few minutes ago..for inspiration. 😉

Okay… wow so I just clicked paste and this quote below appeared! I guess my mom must have copied it for something… but I will use it in my blog!

C. S. Lewis said: “If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world.”

For this blog… let’s look at the cake as sin and temptation… and if you resist it and not eat it.. then it’s good. Because even though sin and temptation is around.. I think that we can resist it.. with God’s help.

We really can’t have our cake and eat it too… just like a person trying to diet, who eats a huge slice of cake.. a person who sins.. will reap consequences.

But… forgiveness.. changes everything.

Yes… in life if you mess up, you will have consequences.. but God gives an opportunity of something that is so incredible to every human..

He forgives and forgets.

Have you ever been to the beach?  Imagine God… having your sins written down on a piece of paper… and when you ask and receive forgiveness… it’s like God.. tossing the paper into the waves… and your sins and regrets go down into the deepest part of the ocean… where they are forgotten.

PEace!

