The Smith’s…

by madiniven

When ever I hear the last name “Smith”… I always think of this perfect family with two and half kids, a mansion and a nice sports car.

Today I rode with my dad to a nice town… When I say nice… I mean.. the town was made by millionaires in the 1920’s and it’s still beautiful today. My dad went in the town’s city hall to do some form of business… and I walked to the pharmacy to get a little snack.

I felt safe there. The town was like Mayberry on steroids. I saw tons of little kids just walking around outside in the town’s little shopping area. I know this doesn’t seem like a big deal… but with all the craziness today.. most parents don’t let their kids roam around… but in this town… it felt like crime wasn’t even in their vocabulary.

After I got my snack.. I just chilled on a bench outside.. and it just felt nice. To me… this town seems perfect. Their lawns are perfectly manicured… everything is just in place. When we were driving out of the town.. I looked at the huge, gorgeous houses and was in awe. They looked like they were supposed to be in some foreign country.

I was talking to my dad about this town’s beauty… and he told me.. that even though it seemed like everything was perfect.. that this town’s high school and middle school were highly known for their major drug problems..

How is this possible? That under all the towns perfectness lies a darkness? It just doesn’t make sense.

Even though this town is so rich.. like all these kids are using this money for drugs… they could be using the money for good… but instead these kids are feeding the darkness.

“Let them eat cake” – Queen Marie Antoinette

This quote was apparently said by a queen during a famine due to bread shortages… I think she didn’t understand… that people were dying all around her…

I’m sure Queen Marie had the money and resources to reach out to the poor people.. but she didn’t.

James 2:14-17

“Dear friends, do you think you’ll get anywhere in this if you learn all the right words but never do anything? Does merely talking about faith indicate that a person really has it? For instance, you come upon an old friend dressed in rags and half-starved and say, “Good morning, friend! Be clothed in Christ! Be filled with the Holy Spirit!” and walk off without providing so much as a coat or a cup of soup—where does that get you? Isn’t it obvious that God-talk without God-acts is outrageous nonsense?”

Do what Jesus did.

PEace!

