6 Names…

by madiniven

Matthew 6:9

” Hallowed be your names, on earth as it is in heaven…”

This is the first petition in the Lord’s prayer. Can you see how this is a great place to start a prayer? Why?

Well… honestly, I have never thought of this verse the way Pastor Jeremy showed it. Hallowed be your name… meaning that God’s name, His personality, His thoughts, and His actions are perfect. I got a giddy feeling when I read this entry. Like praying this little verse is like saying… God, I pray right now that your name, your awesomeness, your glory, your paitence and your love… ect. is shown to the world.. God reveal yourself to your children. Does this not get you excited?!?!?! Your praying that God’s name is known… that the holiness of His name… the greatness of His power… is shown to everyone!!!! I have usually just thought of this verse as something that Jesus said.. that is probably a powerful verse.. but I just realized that if I pray this prayer… I’m asking for God to do His work in our nation and on this whole earth! Like.. This verse is pretty much saying.. let all the people on earth see you as the angels see you!!

What are some things that God says about His own character in the Bible?

The God of compassion and mercy… (Exodus 34:6-7)

I will thank the Lord because he is just;
      I will sing praise to the name of the Lord Most High. (Psam 7:17)

For the LORD your God is a merciful God!  ( Deuteronomy 4:31)

 For this God is our God for ever and ever; he will be our guide even to the end. ( Psalms 48:14)

PEace!

