The wedding!

by madiniven

I had a crazy dream.

My sister, Alex, was having her wedding. But her wedding wasn’t just a regular walk down the aisle ceremony… it was a production. Their were all these actors/actresses on stage in all these blingy outfits… dancing around and singing. It was at a huge church and I was up in the balcony chilling.. just watching the wedding performers…and I remember my other sister, Steph, turning to me and saying.. “This is such a different wedding… but don’t tell Alex I said that..”

Why in the world would I remember that one line?  haha… I have no idea why i remembered it… but it fits in perfectly with my topic for today’s post!

Words.

They can tear down a person.. or build them up.

I think that lately my words have been tearing down.. instead of building up.  I’ve been called out on what I’ve said… which stinks.. but you know what’s worse than that… is my stupid mouth has been tearing down people right in front of their face.

John Mayer’s song… “My Stupid Mouth” really explains what I feel like I’ve been doing lately. The words come out before I even think about what I’m saying. I wish that I could be a written book.. and everything that came off my tongue was perfect..

The tongue is like a sword.

I think that the tongue can cut someone too pieces.. or it can be used to cut the enemy down.. through prayer.

I want my mouth to be used for the second one… I think that the tongue is a sword but it depends on which person is holding the sword.. if I’m holding this thing that can destroy someone then it will most likely destroy what it’s meant to destroy.

But if God’s holding the sword… then things can be built up by what God say’s through me..

James 3:6 and 7-8

“And the tongue is a flame of fire. It is a whole world of wickedness, corrupting your entire body. It can set your whole life on fire, for it is set on fire by hell itself.”

“People can tame all kinds of animals, birds, reptiles, and fish, 8 but no man can tame the tongue. It is restless and evil, full of deadly poison.”

Okay.. so if the tongue can metaphorically set your whole life on fire and is full of poison.. Then why in the world did God give us one??

James 3:9-10

“Sometimes it praises our Lord and Father, and sometimes it curses those who have been made in the image of God. 10 And so blessing and cursing come pouring out of the same mouth. Surely, my brothers and sisters, this is not right!”

The tongue will never be tamed by man.. What is stronger than man? God!

God is the tamer of the most deadliest thing! How awesome is that?!?!

PEace!

