Less than…

by madiniven

I have less than a week left on this Fast. I’m not sure how to word this.. but I am kinda of doing a couple practice sermons. I’m preaching a short sermon in a few weeks so here is one of them…. 🙂

” For I fully expect and hope that I will never be ashamed, but that I will continue to be bold for Christ, as I have been in the past. And I trust that my life will bring honor to Christ, whether I live or die. For to me, living means living for Christ, and dying is even better. ” – Philippians 1:20-21

In this scripture Paul is writing that living for Jesus and dying is better than dying for nothing.
Why would he write this? Something must have clicked in his head that living unashamed for Christ is the best way to live. Paul(also known as Saul) was a murderous man who killed thousands and thousands of Christians.
One day he was on his way to Damascus, to capture any Christians and take them as prisoners, a bright light from heaven flashed around him. A huge voice from heaven asked him, “Saul, Why do you persecute me?” All Saul’s men heard a voice… but saw nothing! They were in shock! As was Saul, He asked ” LOrd who are you?” And of course Jesus replied saying… “I am Jesus, whom you are persecuting, Now get up and go into the city, and you will be told what you must do.”
Then Saul was blinded. For three full days his eyes didn’t see the brightness of day. He finally got into Damascus and disciple named Ananias came out to the house where Saul and his men were staying. He layed hands on Saul and instantly something like scales fell from Saul’s eyes, and he could see.

He was baptized. In Acts 9:20 it says.. “At once he began to preach in the synagogues that Jesus is the Son of God” He was a killer who hated Christians… and his mission to take captive many people was instantly changed into leading people to Jesus Christ.
Saul was a changed man, that day of his encounter with Christ changed his entire life…. God even told Ananias… “Go! This man is my chosen instrument to carry my name before the Gentiles and their kings and before the people of Israel”
God changed everything in Paul’s life.
🙂

